Sunday, October 14, 2007

FUNGI: Domain Eukaryote

There are classification criteria’s for every domain group
whether its bacteria, archaea, and eukarya. The characteristics for the eukarya is mostly made of multicellular organisms, except for unicellular yeasts. There are two types or reproduction preformed by this group. They are asexual, and sexual. An important part of the structure of fungi is the cell wall. The fungi contain the read-like cells also known as filamentous. There are multi nuclei in the cells.
The fungi actually live in the food that they eat. They paralyze their prey, feeds on living organisms, and breaks down dead remains. The fungal group is made of four diverse sub-groups. They are chytridiomycota, zygomycota, basidiomycota, and ascomycota.

Fungals are decomposers, and work to recycle nutrients. Throughout this group are symbiotic relationships such as fungi and algae. As well as fungi and plants. These relationships enable plants to obtain water into the roots, and put species in ecosystems. Mycorrhizae is the name of an important role in plant growth made by the symbiotic relationship of fungi and plants. A plant is able to grow at larger extents, and more rapidly. Yeast is an example of a fungal that uses budding to create asexual reproduction. Haploid spores go together with + and - for sexual reproduction. Wind is a contributor of sexual reproduction by spreading of spores.

This diagram is an example of the life cycle creating bread mold.

This diagram shows basidiomycete life cycle.

No comments: